Shelves of Elves, but then not

I want to begin this by saying that the entire time I was working on this today I had a strange feeling like I could have seen this idea elsewhere, however I have not been able to locate what I made, so I hope everything’s good with all that.

Aaaany way, I designed some shelves! I made them the way I make most things, I stared deeply into the pond across from my house and immersed myself in thought. And then I did a little doodle, and then I opened up Solidworks and started doing stuff. Here’s what I got out of it:

Allwavy but flat

it’s pretty basic, uhm, boxes with wavy fronts so you can connect them face to face. However this is kinda sad, it doesn’t offer an improvement on stacking or placing next to each other compared to your standard issue cardboard box.

So I did this:ehhh

yeah, there is probably a way to reduce the amount of wood… and change the fact that there is not really a nice way to do this. But damn it this is about design, or at least the attempt at it! So I am not going to bother myself with it right now. Anyway, what do we gain from this? Well won’t slide apart from each other that much, so that’s cool, and it just looks kinda funky, the problem is it’s no longer flat on the bottom…

awww yeah

look at those extra pads 😀

1 thought on “Shelves of Elves, but then not

  1. akiva

    I really like the links on this post. Can we get more of that sorta thing?

    Do you think it is possible to make more than one side of these box things that can all stack together?

    Reply

Leave a comment